Little Voices - #1 Amazon bestselling thriller by Vanessa Lillie

Little Voices - #1 Amazon bestselling thriller book Vanessa Lillie

When babies are born, we expect their mothers to whisper to the infants in their arms, not whisper to the judgmental voices in their heads.

On the night Devon almost died giving birth, her friend was murdered. Back home from the hospital, she’s struggling, and as part of her postpartum depression, she hears a cruel voice in her head. When another friend is accused of the unsolved murder, Devon must return to her skills as an attorney to investigate her friend's life and uncover those who benefitted from her death.

Nothing will stop Devon from finding her friend’s killer, not the baby in her arms or the cruel voice in her head. But staying on the right side of the law proves difficult as she digs deeper into the crime. While Devon believes her friend accused is innocent, she uncovers his involvement in a money-laundering scheme, ties to a corrupt government official, and a botched FBI investigation. 

Finding justice becomes an obsession, one that leads Devon, baby in-hand, down a dangerous path directly to the killer. Set against the backdrop of Newport and Providence, Rhode Island, this page turner has one of the most shocking endings of the year.

In its starred review, Publisher’s Weekly says “this superb psychological thriller is hard to put down.” Library Journal starred review calls it (“fast-paced and psychologically complex”) . And Little Voices has made numerous must-read lists, including Refinery29 (“wholly original”), Real Simple (“fantastic, page-turning debut”), and Bookish (“completely engrossing”).

“It’s not easy to hit me with a twist I don’t see coming, but Vanessa Lillie did just that in her smashing debut, Little Voices—a murder mystery, political thriller, and psychological suspense wrapped into one sensational story. Lillie doesn’t shy away from big topics—postpartum depression and money laundering and child abuse—deftly weaving the layers into a twisty and surprising plot. A clever and addictive read from a bright new talent.” —Kimberly Belle, bestselling author of The Marriage Lie and Dear Wife

“[An] impressive debut…This superb psychological thriller is hard to put down.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Fast paced and psychologically complex, this debut mystery has plenty of twists and turns that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, and Megan Abbott.” —Library Journal (starred review)

“Haunting and gripping…[Little Voices] grabs you from the first chapter and takes you on a twisting, turning journey with a surprise ending that will leave you stunned and wanting more.” —The Miami News-Record

“With her debut novel Little Voices, Vanessa Lillie has arrived on the American literary scene with a flash of brilliance. Aficionados of mystery, thriller and horror will savor this intricately plotted page-turner that builds to a stunning denouement…[a] treasure of a book…Lovers of good fiction in general also will appreciate Little Voices—Rhode Islanders especially.” —Providence Journal

“Little Voices checks all of the boxes of a great thriller, and then some.” —Real Simple

Share this: