The Opium Lord's Daughter - Historical Fiction by Robert Wang

The Opium Lord's Daughter - Historical Fiction by Robert Wang

This book is on sale on Amazon for $1.99 (regularly $4.99) 7/21/2020 - 7/24/2020!

WAR – LORDS AND LADIES – EAST/WEST HISTORY – STRONG FEMALE CHARACTERS – ADVENTURES AT SEA – RELIGION – TRADITION AND BUCKING THE SYSTEM

Robert Wang’s historical drama The Opium Lord’s Daughter - told from the dual perspectives of Chinese and British—about the First Opium War, a tragic and history-altering conflict. The book artfully weaves actual events and characters into the narrative, offering the reader a dynamic glimpse into a world populated with rogue drug traders, imperialist government officials, religious zealots, and scrappy survivors.

Su-Mei is a young woman unbound by convention. From the moment we meet her, she bravely resists her wealthy and powerful father—one of the largest opium traders in mid-19th century China—who attempts to force her into the barbaric practice of foot binding. Through her, readers look with fresh eyes upon antiquated and harmful traditions and understand how time and experiences truly shape a person during their life’s journey.

The Opium Lord’s Daughter is an expedition through the destruction of a culture, underscoring the hold and havoc drug empires continue to exert in society, even to this day. A must-read for fans of Shogun, White Queen, Downtown Abbey, Poldark, and other sweeping tales rooted in history

The book has won The Independent Press Award 2020 for Multi-Cultural Fiction, and was a finalist for The Book Excellence Awards, SPR Book Awards, and the Readers Choice Awards.

Share this: